St. Andrew Christian Church
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
fka St. Andrew Baptist Church
Search this site.View the site map.
Visit us on Facebook.


Historical Sketch of the St. Andrew Baptist Church


In 1923, in the home of Mother Matthews twenty-five former members of the Green Memorial Baptist Church became chartered members of a new fellowship. These baptized believers passed on a sacred heritage and flaming torch of scripture Acts 2:42 “They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer”. The Power and Wisdom of God sent Pastors after His own heart, who inherited the Prophet’s Mantle, the Shepherd’s Heart and the Apostle’s Spirit to “rightly divide the Word of Truth” 2 Timothy 2:15. In 1926, the church was organized by the late Rev. Sanders K. Jackson and established as the St. Andrew Baptist Church. The first place of worship was a small building with sawdust floors and pews made of planks supported by cement blocks. The church was located at 523 E. Marshall Street in Tulsa. During Reverend G.A. Webb’s pastorate, St. Andrew moved from 523 E. Marshall Pl. to 3115 N. Garrison Ave.

On May 15, 1980 the Lord assigned Rev. Dr. Bertrand M. Bailey Sr. as pastor, to lead a beautiful congregation in the fulfilling work of the church which is the Great Commission.

On May 15, 2016, led by the Holy Spirit and through a church vote, Dr. Bertrand Bailey Sr. added to his Pastoral staff, his son, Reverend Dr. Bertheophilus Maurice Judge Bailey, Sr., as General Pastor appointed by God to continue to carry the Prophet’s Mantle. February 14, 2018, Dr. Bertrand Bailey Sr. was called from labor to reward. With the Pastoral torch in the hands of Rev. Dr. B. M. “Judge” Bailey Sr. and at his side, his faithful wife, First Lady Arrica Bailey, the church continues to run the race set before them under a new pastoral vision. “We love and serve God, We love and serve other, we impact our world by sharing Jesus and we transform believers into disciples.”          

St. Andrew’s Pastors are listed below. Their accomplishments are too numerous to mention:

  Reverend S. K. Jackson 1923 – 1927

  Reverend W. H. Woods 1927-1937

  Reverend T. H. Weeks 1937 – 1940

  Reverend M. V. Ferguson 1940 – 1965

  Reverend G. A. Webb 1965 – 1979

  Reverend Dr. B. M. Bailey Sr. 1979 – 2018

  Reverend Dr. B. M. "Judge" Bailey 2018 - Present

 Only God has the whole history of the Saints who continued in planting seeds of Faith, Hope and Love. We know we can only see and write in part, but someday before ‘The Throne of God’, we will see with new spiritual understanding. The last chapter of St. Andrew’s History will not be written until God adds up the work that we have yet to do!